Posted by: Matthew | November 29, 2009

Help!!!!! My neighbours burn plastic.

I went out to the shed and was overcome with the smell of burning plastic. A quick hunt around found the culprit; my neighbour.

so I walked down to their fire pit and took some photos:

Yep they’re burning plastic. See there is a plastic rubbish bin lid and a plastic tarpaulin and various other bits of plastic.

So I called the Greater Wellington Regional Council pollution hotline who put me through to the firies and the fire brigade came and put the whole stinking mess out.

This is clearly unacceptable, errant and let’s face it, appalling behaviour. This is why there should be a complete ban on burning off. People who think it is ok to burn think it is ok to burn any old shit. Yet I had a cloud of poisonous smoke at my house and I’m the one who felt woozy and tight in the chest after breathing it. There should also be an education campaign, and there should be large fines and criminal charges for behaviour like that. I am truly appalled.

I call for a complete ban on all burning off in all of Kapiti and all of New Zealand.

2 hours after this another neighbour started burning off. I’m completely surrounded by pyromaniacs and I have no quality of life. What did I do in my last life to get karma so bad in this one?

I’m going to declare my house smoke free. I am going to tell my neighbours that my house is now smoke free. No smoke is welcome in the air over my land. I am going to have to find some way to enforce it too. I am sick of it. It should not be happening.

Responses

  1. […] that to the first hand evidence that people burn plastic and you’ve got pretty good evidence that people can’t be trusted to burn anything at […]

  2. […] someone burns plastic custodial sentences might be […]

  3. […] they didn’t have a permit, can they please be prosecuted this time?  My neighbour’s who burnt plastic and didn’t have a permit got off with a letter from the Greater Wellington Regional Council. […]

  4. […] of woodsmoke pollution, and people can’t be trusted to burn. They’ll burn treated pine. they’ll burn plastic. People burn wet wood, newspapers, rubbish and who knows what? There are no clean solid fuels due to […]

  5. […] one where they burnt plastic and this one where I showed the aftermath of that […]

  6. […] going to polluted like it is, with smoke from burnoffs on at least half of all weekend days. Like these guys I live next to who are about to illegally burn off plastic again, even though they know not to […]

  7. […] and I got welcomed home with a yard full of what smelt like burning plastic. It wasn’t my neighbours who’ve been caught before and are set to do so again and it wasn’t (I don’t think) the neighbours on the other […]

  8. […] burn on the weekends. They let their fires smoke and smoulder.  They leave their fires unattended. They burn plastic. They burn off too close to their neighbours houses. I’m no longer scared of bushfires like I […]

  9. […] My neighbours burn plastic. Their names are Gary and Merle and they live at Pahiko at 1277 SH1, Te […]

  10. […] yesterday because my house was polluted by these people and by these people, but thankfully not by these people, and I went up the Mangaone Walkway, but that was polluted by burning off as […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

